Change

“Change”: Something I could never adapt to

Pour out my time and support on you,

and you dumped it all in a river.

Lord knows I tried to stay together,

but it’s hard when I’m the only one trying.

Watch your words and your tone,

you know I have issues.

You were never there when I needed support,

Instead you felt the need to talk about yourself.

How am I supposed to feel about that?

Been awhile since we’ve seen eachother,

been trying to get us back together.

But no, instead of telling me the truth you make excuses.

Excuse, after excuse, after excuse.

How am I supposed to feel about that?

We were talking on the phone last night,

I asked if we were ever going to see eachother again.

You responded with “Idk” and left it at that.

How am I supposed to feel about that?

It burned, I said “whatever” since you always give me that.

Few minutes later you asked if I was mad,

are you stupid?

Of course I’m mad look at how you treat me.

But I’m too hurt to respond so you keep pushing.

You said that sounded “mad” and send me an “lol”.

Your sick.

If you get joy out of seeing someone else fall,

Your sick.

What changed you?

What happened when we were kids and we talked on the phone for hours?

What did that phone that you got for Christmas have to do with being greater?

What happened to those monthly visits that would last for days?

What happened to having a healthy friendship?

Why can’t I just have my friend back?

Played with the idea of blocking your number,

But I won’t just because you might come around.

Don’t expect me to reply to what you say.

You were abusive as hell,

You think I’m just going to forgive you without you saying sorry first?

That’s happened far too many times.

My close friend told me you were fake,

But did I listen?

I pushed further,

I didn’t let go.

But you did.

How am I supposed to hold both our weights when I’m on my last finger?

It doesn’t help that your wiggling and struggling for no reason.

Guess it’s time for me to let go.

It’s time for me to adapt to change.

I just wanted my friend back.

(please note that I did not use any rhyming or syllable patterns for this “poem” because I didn’t feel the need to at that time)

Published by

Camryn

Hey guys! My blog is pretty much a tossed salad when it comes to a theme of it. At first it was dogs, then stories of my life, and now it seems its poetry. You never know what's going to come next!